Disappearing from Disappearing

For years I have been obsessed with the idea of being number one in the disappearing world. I wanted to be the go to guy, the one who knew it all about disappearing. Maybe I do and maybe I do not. Either way I am feeling more like a creation, like a how to disappear reputation management.

Recently I have become involved in a relationship and have found myself being accountable for things I have stated online. Not that I fault my partner but the strangeness of my world generates a lot of curiosity. I found myself explaining that the person she reads about is a creation and not the person sitting across the table from her. I think she found this quite odd.

This conversation opened up some serious personal thought. What are we doing online when it comes to reputation management? Are we creating false images of ourselves, of what we want others to believe? It’s not truth but marketing and nothing more. It is strange writing about this considering I have done so much online disinformation.

Lately, I have been asking myself, what have I become. Will I be forever known as the disappear guy? I sure hope not but it is looking that way. I will end up like one of those child stars who can’t be recognized for anything else but.

I was in a class recently when a person asked if I have ever disappeared. I laughed it off like I wish. However, I think I am at the point where I want to disappear from the disappearing world. I have had my fill and it is time to become something else.

Frank M. Ahearn
www.FrankAhearn.com
Author of: The Art of Disappearing: 199 Essential Privacy and Disappearing Tips

Leave a Reply

